Blog Tour: The Worlds Traveler (Review + Excerpt)

worlds traveler

Life on the run from madman Martin Reimer gets in the way of everything.

For fourteen-year-old Phillip, it has meant having to stay hidden, unable to use his gift of moving through maps to search for his missing father. But the arrival of a stranger named Delroy brings unexpected opportunity, for Delroy is a man with the ability to travel worlds hidden within our own and he was sent by Phillip’s father. Now Phillip will do everything he can to find his dad, even if it means tricking Delroy into helping him or a quest through those hidden worlds.

Even if leaving home means Martin can now find him…

Follow in the adventures of Phillip Stone and Natalie Bristol from the award-winning book The Magician’s Doll!

Get the book

Amazon – Kobo – Barnes & Noble – iTunes

Add to Goodreads

worlds traveler banner.jpg

Review
It has been a long time since I’ve enjoyed a middle grade adventure/fantasy book as much as I did The Worlds Traveler. If I had to pick one book to describe the reading experience, I’d have to go with fun! And I can’t think of a better word when it comes to what I look for in books to recommend to younger readers. Undeniably, the characters are dynamic, the writing is smart, and the world has a lot of elements to it that will make this a memorable story, but what will keep readers young and old turning pages is simply how much fun this story is.

Fair warning, if you’re considering reading The Worlds Traveler, then I would recommend picking up The Magician’s Doll first as it will help get you into the loop with everything that is going on a lot faster than jumping into book two. I didn’t realize at first that this was a sequel, and I was enjoying the book on it’s own, but once I was invited to read the first book and then polished that off in a couple of days before restarting book two, my reading experience got that much better.

Boy and girl readers will equally find parts of this story to love, and both Natalie and Phillip are the types of characters that middle graders love to cheer for. They’re smart, without being infallible, and they will quickly come to feel like your friends.

I would absolutely recommend this book to those who come through the doors of our library next year, and hope to see more from this author in the future.


Excerpt

“Natalie!”

“Phillip!”

Phillip, Natalie, and Delroy spun in the direction of the summons. Beausoleil and Mrs. Stone were several blocks away, but they were running and would soon reach them.

“I guess they found my note,” Natalie said.

“You left a note?” Phillip exclaimed, exasperated.

“Maybe you can leave your mom without telling, but I can’t.” Natalie’s reply was calm, but it held a sadness that made Phillip feel ashamed.

“You’re right, I’m sorry.”

“No need to feel bad,” Delroy interrupted, “because we’re not leaving together. Period.”

“Phillip!” His mother’s voice was frantic. “Phillip, don’t go! Please!”

For once she was not ordering him, and of all the things that could have stopped Phillip, her pleading cry was one. He hesitated.

His mother and Beausoleil drew near, halting as Phillip backed away.

“We’ll figure something out, Phillip,” his mother said. “I promise.”

“You always say that,” Phillip cried.

“We have new information now, Phillip,” Beausoleil said. “Trust me, we can use it to search for your father.”

“When?” Phillip asked. “I have a plan now.”

His mother glanced at Delroy who looked away. “Please don’t leave with Mr. Mendu.”

“You’re wrong about him,” Phillip said. “Dad trusted him. And Natalie said he could help us. She thinks we should leave with him, too!”

“No,” his mother breathed. “Oh, Natalie.”

Natalie bowed her head. “I’m sorry, Mrs. Stone. I promise I’ll do everything I can to keep him safe.”

Beausoleil turned to Delroy. “Are you going to go along with this? Are you going to take them?”

“Absolutely not. If you all don’t mind, I’ll be on my way.”

Anger surged through Phillip as Delroy, with scarcely a glance at him, turned heel and continued down the walk.

”My dad asked you!” he shouted at Delroy’s retreating back. “He trusted you!” When Delroy failed to turn around, Phillip charged across the street.

He pulled out his map.

“Aerthreis,” he ordered.

As the lines emerged on his map, he heard Delroy yell, “No! Are you crazy? You’ll get yourself killed!”

“What?” his mother screamed to Delroy. “What is he doing? Where is he going?”

Natalie ran to Phillip. The hazy, wiggling shape of Aerthreis had formed when she reached him and flung her arms around him. Phillip grasped her tight.

Beausoleil bolted towards them. His mother dropped to her knees. Delroy raised his hands and closed his eyes, summoning his gift, Phillip thought. Then it all blurred.

“I’m sorry, mom,” Phillip whispered, as he and Natalie faded into the map and disappeared.

 

 

Leave a Reply

