Contract of Defiance by Tammy Salyer

contractSpectras Arise Trilogy #1

When all other options run out, never let go of your gun.

Winner of the 2010 Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers Colorado Gold Contest for best action/thriller. Finalist in the Kindle Book Review 2012 Best Indie Book Contest for science fiction/fantasy.

In a few hundred years, the Algol system becomes humanity’s new home. The question is: Is it a better one? When a crew of arms smugglers botches their latest job, Corps-deserter and crewmember, Aly Erikson, is separated from her brother, the only person she can trust, and left behind to fight for her life. In the aftermath, as she tries to piece together what happened, a crew of roughneck settlers pressgang her into a dangerous mission in the heart of Corps territory. Time is running out to get back everything she’s lost: her crew, her brother, her options. But no one is taking her gun.

Contract of Defiance is the first book in an exciting new space opera series, and I’ve gotta say, I’m so glad I stumbled across this book on NetGalley. I’ve already recommended this to a couple of my sci-fi loving book friends.

I won’t go too far into the plot because it is pretty darn involved. I expect, if I ever have the chance to read the next book, I’ll be rereading this one first. The world building is great, with a lot of familiar elements but enough of a new take that it never felt stale. The pacing also keeps you guessing, and there are only a handful of quiet moments.

My biggest issue was that it took me a long time to keep track of all the characters and really figure out who everyone was, but once I caught on I really enjoyed the various dynamics between the characters. Curious to see what happens next!

Leave a Reply

